Covenant of Mayors in Sub-Saharan Africa

This four-year Sub-Saharan African project aims to increase the capacities of the project's pilot cities on sustainable energy development and climate change.

Inspired by the success of the Covenant of Mayors in Europe, a similar project was launched by the European Commission (DG-DEVCO) in Sub-Saharan Africa (CoM SSA) in 2015. This initiative aims to assist cities in the planning for access to affordable, reliable and sustainable energy while adapting to the effects of climate change in sub-Saharan African cities.

SEA being a key partner in this project aims to increase the capacities of the pilot cities to provide access to secure, sustainable, affordable and clean energy services to urban and peri-urban populations according to the three pillars 1) mitigation 2) adaptation, and 3)  access to energy. 

We will do this through the following activities:

  • Build capacity within African cities in order to promote a sustainable city, 
  • Assess key energy gaps
  • Support small scale EE & RE demonstration projects
  • Coordinate technical and training workshops
  • Promote city to city and north/south and south/south cooperation

The piliot cities are:
  1. Benin (Abomey, Zou)
  2. Côte d’Ivoire (Bouake)
  3. Democratic Republic of the Congo (Lubumbashi)
  4. Mauritania (Nouakchott)
  5. Senegal (Dakar)
  6. Togo (Tsevie)
  7. Uganda (Kampala)
Find out more about the Global Covenant of Mayors, the CoM SSA initiative and visit the CoM SSA Facebook page Donor: European Commission (DG-DEVCO)
Project timeframe: 2015- 2019
Project manager: Peta Wolpe